top of page

I LIVED IN THE VILLAGE

GIVING DIRECTIONS


My friend came to visit. She drove from the City. I gladly gave this kind soul directions to my domicile. 'When you get to the white stone, take your right arm. Follow the road until you see Mama Mboga. You will know her, she waves at every car that passes. Leave her behind. Take your left arm and go forward. When you see three big banana trees, stop there and call me, you will have arrived.'

And that is the day I knew I was a village girl. No English of nose, just practical living using landmarks for African SIRI has not reached here.

May we never lose touch with what the ground really does for us comprehensively. Let us 'go back home'. And if you need directions, I got you! Just keep going until you reach the quarry. There will be a man covered in dust but the fruits he sells are fresh and he has a clean heart. Pass him. Keep walking until you reach the river, whistle three times and I will be there to welcome you home, with bananas.



THE VILLAGE HORSE


I had not seen a donkey ( the village horse) in a long while. I had made a mental note to take as many photos as I possibly could of this interesting animal and send them to my city friends who only know impractical horses. The village one even has a car it drives, ferrying much needed food and wares to the market place! Brava! You donkey you!

It so happens that the village craftsman (he fixes everything by the Grace because I honestly do not understand what magic he perfoms on broken and I mean dilapidated wares), is my friend and owns a donkey. We agreed that I would throw an eye at his place and see donkey! He got busy and I got curious. One day I sauntered towards Magician's home. Upon reaching his slanted gate, I heard a sound I will never forget! HAVE YOU EVER HEARD A DONKEY BRAY??? Let's just say I left my shoes there jetting off to safety much to the amusement of my fellow villagers. That was not ok!

I am still processing the encounter with the Village Horse. Do city horses shake the ground with their...what do they do? Neigh? Aii what is this now?


May our children get a well rounded comprehension of what really is what!

I lived in the village.

Oh Look! Magician just showed up. Let me go complain!




Almost there.jpeg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Welcome to my blog. It is a privilege to be able to tell stories that reflect the immediate environment with laughter, joy, love and compassion. AND BELONGING. If you wish to get notified of new stories, please leave your e-mail address below. Tell Your Story.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
bottom of page