top of page

DEMYSTIFYING THE OL' DISCIPLINARIAN

SHE THREW A CURVE BALL/SLIPPER


My mother was left handed. May she continue to be HER in peace...resting, not so sure. She was a trip. Now, older sibling, may he continue bossing people around in peace, went ahead and pissed mother dearest off. We were kids.

As an adult I now have the concept of space and size and speed down packed. I also understand why a kid would decide to run from a beating as if they would not come back home along with the chickens! Honestly the 'wisdom' of childhood baffles me. Or is it just survival? I digress.

Mother was maaaaad!!! Sibling ran off before she could complete her tirade, which would be paused or repeated at will so no one was sure when the punishment would end. I was wise enough to stay put. The escapee had run off a bit far. The amount of adrenalin in Mummy drove her to pick the disciplinarian since 19come we go (A.K.A Slipper) and hurl it towards speedie gonzales' body. WHAM! She actually hit him! Me let me tell you. THAT WAS A PRODUCTION! Some neighbors cheered and some of us stood in awe. Maama stood there looking around as if awaiting a reward from an important person in a stadium full of people. Kipchoge stood in shock, brain beginning to accept that he was in even deeper doodoo than before. Oh why did he run?



I do not believe in any form of violence. I also do not believe in a singular story. I believe for us to set ourselves free from trauma and past pain, it is paramount to include the spirit behind actions in the equation. Things will balance out then. Forgiveness will be acceptance from a place of empowerment.


Hindsight is in deed 20/20. When I put together a list of work place stress, extended family stress, personal insecurities borne of culture, personal dreams and goals for her kids and body and hormonal changes, I see why the Ol' disciplinarian came in handy for my mother and our mothers. They could not divide themselves any further! Now we know better we do better.

No! I don't mean you go perfecting your home run! Hapanaaa.


Let's go inward. Heal our past wounds. And break the cycle!


Blue or Red? Ours were almost always Blue. Not sure why! Must find out! Rest in Peace Ma! Run in Peace Bruh! You run. I learn. Much Respect!



Almost there.jpeg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Welcome to my blog. It is a privilege to be able to tell stories that reflect the immediate environment with laughter, joy, love and compassion. AND BELONGING. If you wish to get notified of new stories, please leave your e-mail address below. Tell Your Story.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • LinkedIn
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
bottom of page